still alive

coming at ya on 11.26.22 ;; loved on by fb

I bet you thought I went and unalived again, didn't you? Well, just get that silly notion out of your head! What I actually did was unfortunately have to work so many hours that I barely have time to shower and less time to sleep, so I'm never online and my blogging has suffered for it.

On top of working myself into a stuper, I've got issues with a family member who showed up out of the blue to stay and brought a bunch of friends, too. Ruined the darn holidays but he does something like this every year. I can't wait to see how they trash the house for Christmas.

hey nostalgia

coming at ya on 7.20.22 ;; loved on by fb

So, I've got a raging case of 90s nostalgia going on (hence the neocities site, let's be real) so now my best friend and I are watching the WB old late-90s lineup including a rewatch of Buffy and shows I didn't watch the first time around, like Dawson's Creek. So far I don't get the actual appeal of this show save for the 90s nostalgia it's giving me thanks to it's fashion, it's music and the over-the-top way the kids talk. Seventh Heaven is next! I'm scared lol.

It's actually hard to find enough downtime to do this rewatch. I don't have time to binge anything. I barely have time for an episode here or there. There's no use hoping that gets better but the revisiting of my teen years is definitely helping me handle a downtick in my depression. It's not a magic cure-all, but it's something!

just do it

coming at ya on 7.19.22 ;; loved on by fb

I am not a happy camper. I try very hard in life to not Karen around so I let poor service go and try not to sweat the small stuff as much as possible but Amazon gave me no choice but to get all up in their support's grill today. I bought two pair of shoes from two different stores, both were fulfilled by Amazon and a day later I get a message saying they're undeliverable --- but no word as to why. On top of that, they say they're cancelling the order and I find out through their chat bot that if I want the shoes I ordered, I have to go and order them again. WHY do I have to do that? Are the days really gone when a company sends replacements of a product if something goes wrong during shipping? Am I crazy to have expected Amazon to contact me and ask me what I want to do before doing it? Probably, lol.

comment woes

coming at ya on 7.18.22 ;; loved on by fb

So, I'm at kind of a loss. Once upon a time a flat, static blog could utilize a remotely-hosted script called YACCS for their comments but YACCS withdrew into the dark recesses of the internet and full-on disappeared in, I think, 2007? What that basically means for me is that I know that remotely-hosted comments on a static blog are possible, or at least I vividly remember a time when they were... unfortunately that's not a thing anymore and I haven't the faintest idea how to implement comments here.

day off

coming at ya on 7.17.22 ;; loved on by fb

I mean, sort of? Lol. I'm not working at the restaurant today but I'm fully still working on things. At least I got to sleep in, which is better than Christmas and I think any server will tell you the same.

I'm still messing around in my code, fixing things and stuff and trying to remember what I used to have on my old blogs. Adoptions, I think? Cliques? What are some good cliques to join? If you run or know of a clique you think I'd like, poke around down there in the shout box ---- oh yeah, I added an old-timey shout box.

That's actually the one thing I don't like about not using Wordpress (aka, the lack of scripting possible on neocities) -- no comments! Still, I do have the shout box and guestbook so we shall see how that goes.

waitressing = no bueno

coming at ya on 7.16.22 ;; loved on by fb

Ooof, it's been a loooong week. We've had a lot of folks come in to the restaurant that I don't recognize, many who seem to think they're a very big deal and should be able to treat the wait staff (which, unfortunately includes me) like absolute garbage. One lady got so angry that I asked to see her ID before serving her beer that she flipped out and demanded my boss come out and tell me to just give her what she wants. Which didn't happen but on what planet is that a normal way to behave? I've worked there five years, you'd think I'd be used to it by now.

I was so exhausted by the time I got home, I literally passed out sitting upright with my laptop on my lap. I wish Calgon would come and take me away, lol.

new look!

coming at ya on 7.15.22 ;; loved on by fb

Do you love it? I love it! I'm so stupidly out of practice but there's something SO friggin' amazing about getting into the guts of some silly, crappy css. I'm still tweaking, making some EMOTES that I might release once they're done. I forgot how much fun this is. :)

sixteen tons

coming at ya on 7.14.22 ;; loved on by fb

I suppose there's something to be said for working until you drop but I'm old and I'm just not here for it. I haven't blogged regularly in over a decade simply because I can't find the time. I don't even remember how to do this? I don't know how life's supposed to go but this ain't it.

It's been an age

coming at ya on 7.13.22 ;; loved on by fb

It's so weird to be blogging again on a site like this. I'm sort of wondering if I can cutenews the crap out of it because I hate using online html editors for some strange reason. Anyway, I'm not sure if I'm going to go on and keep this but I suppose we'll see. Using a VERY old template I made some 14 years ago as a guide and I kinda love it. Where'd my damn creativity go?